Sarbananda Sonowal, Kiren Rijiju in Key Union Cabinet Committees headed by PM

Published: July 13,2021 11:50 AM

Story highlights

Sonowal is part of the Cabinet Committee on Political Affairs and Rijiju is a member of the Cabinet Committee on Parliamentary Affairs

July 13, 2021: Union Minister for Ports, Shipping, Waterways and AYUSH and former Assam Chief Minister Sarbananda Sonowal has been made part of the all-important Cabinet Committee on Political Affairs headed by Prime Minister Narendra Modi.

Another Union Minister from Northeast, Kiren Rijiju MP from Arunachal Pradesh and Union Minister for Law and Justice has been made a member in the Cabinet Committee on Parliamentary Affairs headed by Defence Minister Rajnath Singh.

The announcements were made last night by the Cabinet Secretariat.

Other newly inducted members of the rejigged Cabinet Committee on Political Affairs are Union ministers Smriti Irani and Bhupender Yadav.

Union ministers Virendra Kumar and Anurag Singh Thakur are the new faces in the reshuffled Cabinet Committee on Parliamentary Affairs.

The new members in the Cabinet Committee on Employment and Skill Development, headed by the PM, are Union ministers Ashwini Vaishnaw, Bhupender Yadav, Ramchandra Prasad Singh and G. Kishan Reddy.

The Cabinet Committee on Investment and Growth headed by the PM has Union Minister Narayan Rane, Jyotiraditya Scindia and Ashwini Vaishnaw as the new members.

No changes have been made in the composition of the country's highest decision making body on security affairs -- the Cabinet Committee on Security -- and the Appointments Committee of the Cabinet, which takes call on all important appointments in the government in the rank of Joint Secretary and above.

The members of the Cabinet Committee on Security are the Prime Minister, the Defence Minister, Home Minister Amit Shah, Finance Minister Nirmala Sitharaman and External Affairs Minister Subrahmanyam Jaishankar.

The two-member Appointments Committee of the Cabinet comprises the Prime Minister and the Home Minister.

The induction of new ministers in the Cabinet Committees had become necessary because of the recent Union Cabinet reshuffle and resignation of several Union Ministers.