Assamese film

Bringing accolades to Assam and the Assamese film fraternity, Rima Dasâ?Ts film "Village Rockstars"

picture courtesy the news mill
Picture Courtesy: The News Mill

April 13, 2018: Bringing accolades to Assam and the Assamese film fraternity, Rima Das's film "Village Rockstars" grabbed the Best Feature Film award of 2017 in the recently announced 65th National Film Awards on Friday.

Besides this, the film also managed to win awards in the Best Editing and Best Audiography categories along with Bhanita Das receiving the Best Child Artist award.

It is after 31 years that an Assamese film has won the honour. Jahnu Barua's "Halodhia Choraye Baodhan Khai" had won the award last in 1987.

It may be stated that "Village Rockstars" is a coming-of-age film, written and directed by Rima Das, who is a self-taught filmmaker.

Earlier, the film - which revolves around the big dreams of 10-year-old Dhunu who wishes to have her own rock band, had received several awards like the Film Critics Circle of India Award for the Best Indian Film of 2017 at Jio MAMI Film Festival 2017, Golden Gateway award for best film in India Gold category, Oxfam Best Film for Gender Equality award, Young Critics Choice award at International Children's Film Festival India (ICFFI) 2017, Golden Elephant for Best Director (Feature Film) Competition Asian Panorama by Adult Jury: Rima Das, Special Jury Award for the Best Child Performer: Bhanita Das at Cork Film Festival, Gradam Spiorad Na Féile / Spirit of the Festival Award at Cairo International Film Festival to name a few.

Reportedly, a source close to the Jury stated, “This year the jury headed by Shekhar Kapur has recognized fresh talent from across India including a fabulous film from Laskshadweep.  The best film, hands-down was Rima Das’s Village Rockstars.

It may be mentioned that Utpal Borpujari's film "Ishu" emerged as the winner in the Best Assamese Film category.

The 65th National Film Awards have been announced by the jury headed by renowned filmmaker Shekhar Kapur who stated that Hindi films try too hard to be everything, they can't compete with regional films.

The 10-membered panel comprises the likes of Kannada director P Sheshadri, screenwriter Imtiaz Hussain, actor Gautami Tadimalla and lyricist Mehboob among others. The Awards are administered by the government;s Directorate of Film Festivals.

Related Links